The highest authority in the City of Kalajoki is the City Council, which has 35 members.

The municipality’s duties are set out in the Constitution of Finland and the Local Government Act. Chapter 11 of the Constitution of Finland provides self-government and the right to levy municipal tax to municipalities. The Local Government Act provides that all municipalities must have a municipal council, municipal board, municipal manager, auditing committee and a professional auditor.

The municipal council may also set up committees to handle functions of a permanent nature, in addition to setting up management teams. The municipality’s decisions are made by a municipal council that is chosen by the residents in elections held every four years.